Romance Advocate of the Year

Windy City has had a longstanding tradition of honoring one special librarian each year who goes above and beyond to support the romance genre with the Northern Illinois Librarian Of The Year Award. Our chapter has since expanded this recognition to include booksellers, reviewers, and industry professionals who have made outstanding efforts in supporting the romance community.
Nominations are open to recognize a librarian, bookseller, book reviewer or member of the romance publishing industry who has contributed to supporting romance books in our community.
The award will be presented at our annual Cathie Linz
Romance Appreciation Dinner.

Romance Advocate of the Year
First and Last Name
First and Last Name
Any librarian in Northern Illinois is eligible for nomination, as well as booksellers or romance industry contacts who have advocated for romance books in the Chicagoland community. Criteria for nomination should include going “above and beyond” in service to romance readers, writers, and the genre. Any member in good standing of Windy City RWA can supply a nomination.

Historical Recipients

    1995 – Joyce Sarricks, Downers Grove Public Library (first winner)
    1996 – 1997 – Susan Emmon-Kroeger, Lisle Public Library District
    1999 – Susan Gibberman, Schaumburg Township District Library
    2004 – Susan Gibberman, Schaumburg Township District Library
    2005 – Betty Wampach, Naperville Public Library
    2007 – Margie Nolan, Seneca Public Library
    2010 – Karen Toonen, Naper Blvd. Library (Naperville)
    2011 – Kathleen Longacre, 95th Street Library (Naperville)
    2012 – Denise Zielinski, Joliet Public library
    2013 – Amy Alessio, Schaumburg Township District Library
    2014 – Nancy McCully, Glenside Public Library
    2015 – No Recipient
    2016 – A. Lynne Wall
    2017 – Kate Zdnek & Erin Keables
    2018 –  Gloria Drake, Oswego Public Library
    2019 – Karen Toonen, Naperville Public Library